Minnie Mouse Macarons

roar
The world full of imagination- this is the world that I have dreamt ever since I was young.  Now that I am living again through the same world with happiness but behind this happiness is a huge excitement that always bothers me.  It’s been a while since I went out of town together with my family. I never thought of leaving my country for a day or two but my parents just booked a flight for me and my brother to Hong Kong- which makes me feel elated.

It’s been a decade since I went to one of the famous Theme Park in Hong Kong, which is the Hong Kong Disneyland. It feels great to be back after a long time as I search again the mystery of my dreams through this imaginative world. Well! It found out that I did. Despite the crowd, I still met a lot of Disney Characters, took some rides, and ate some amazing treats exclusively from the place.

I also took a photo of my all-time favorite Disney Character that was turned into a sweet treat- Minnie Mouse macarons. I am glad that I finally step into their land where magical things exist. Here is my recipe on how I make them! Stay tuned for more recipes and travel blog 😄😄😄

18034068_1538916826121438_5751876144077751865_nMinnie Mouse Macarons

Macaron Shells:
3/4 cups of almond flour/meal
1 cup of powdered sugar
2 large egg whites
2 tbsp of granulated sugar
2 tbsp of cocoa powder
Black Food Coloring Gel

Filling: (Dark Chocolate Ganache)
1/4 cup of heavy cream
1/2 cup of dark chocolate (or 2-3 bars)
1 tbsp of unsalted butter

Assembly:
White Royal Icing
Red Royal Icing
Pink or Yellow Royal Icing

Procedure (Shells):
Line in two parchment paper onto the baking trays. In a food processor, Put the almond flour, icing sugar, and cocoa powder then pulse it until it becomes a well-fined powder

In a large bowl with a large sifter on top, Put the processed powder (Almond Flour, Icing Sugar and Cocoa Powder) onto the strainer and sift until there are no more lumps on the sifter. In a stand mixer or a large bowl with a hand mixer, Put in the egg whites and beat it until it gets frothy. Add in the granulated sugar a tablespoon at a time and black food coloring gel, Beat it until it gets stiff peak. Put the dry mixture into your egg mixture half at a time then fold it gently (approx. 15 strokes). Add in again the other half mixture then fold it until it has a molten lava consistency. (Another 15~20 strokes so all in all you have 30~35 strokes depending on the consistency of the mixture)

Put the mixture into a piping bag fit in with a small round tip. Pipe in the macaron shells in about 3 cm in diameter and two dots on the top to look like a Minnie or Mickey Mouse. When done piping, Bang the tray few times to release some air bubbles that are trapped in the shells. Let it sit for about 20 minutes or an hour until your shells developed a hard skin on the top (Once you touch the piped shells, it doesn’t stick anymore)

While waiting for the shells to dry, Preheat the oven to 275ºF. When the shells are already dry, Bake it in the oven (middle rack) for about 12~15 minutes. When it’s done, Let them cool for about 4~5 minutes. Remove them gently from the parchment paper then place them on a plate or tray.

Filling Procedure:
Put the heavy cream into a microwave-safe bowl and microwave it for 10~30 secs until it gets hot. Add in the dark chocolate and let it sit for 30~40 seconds then stir in. Add in the butter then stir until the butter gets melted. Refrigerate the filling for 20~30 minutes (or 10 minutes in the freezer)

Assembly:
Use red royal icing to draw the dress of Minnie Mouse and the ribbon then let it set for 10 seconds. Use white royal icing to draw the dots on Minnie Mouse dress. Use pink royal icing to draw a dot on the middle of Minnie Mouse’s ribbon.

Leave a Reply

