Mom’s Birthday

Capture

Mothers are very important in our family because they are the one who is responsible for the needs, care and love for their children no matter how old they are as long as it is for the betterment of themselves.  As a son, I wanted to show my love based on the passion that I have dreamt of. Even though we tend to be so close together from Korean dramas, late night talks to sweet dreams. I know that there are times that we have been misunderstanding to each other but then it will resolve eventually. I really love my mom for everything. I never doubted to have her as she will be supporting me until the end despite the things we do. (So thankful to have her)

momyyyy

Moving on, It’s been 3 years since I made my mom’s first birthday cake. I never thought how time flew that fast. For me, it has been a tradition to make a birthday cake for my mom because it just shows my love for her from all the things that we’ve been through (I know it may sound redundant of saying my love for her through various circumstances but I can’t stop it HAHA ).  This time I made her a 3-layer Coffee Cake because I knew that my mother likes Coffee ever since I was young. Anyway, I will be leaving the full recipe down below and stay tuned for my new recipes!

Once again let me greet my mom a “Belated Happy Birthday!”

mommyyyy

Ingredients: (Yield: 1 Layer Cake)
3 egg yolks
3 egg whites
45 ml of oil (preferably Canola Oil)
50g of sugar
40g of sugar (for the meringue)
1 tbsp of coffee powder
50ml of milk

Procedure:
Preheat the oven to 350°F, to Grease a 9″ Cake Pan lined with Parchment paper at the bottom

In a large bowl, Beat the egg whites until it is foamy. Add the sugar then beat until it becomes stiff peaks (Set it Aside)
In another large bowl, Beat the egg yolks and sugar until it gets light and incorporated. Add the Oil, Coffee Powder and Milk, mix until combined.
Fold in one-third of the meringue into the egg yolk mixture, mix until it gets light and airy. Fold in the rest of the meringue, mix until it gets runny and airy.
Place the mixture into the cake pan and bake it in a preheated oven for 18~22 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.

Coffee Frosting/Icing:
2 egg whites
100g of sugar
50g of water
110g of butter (equivalent to 1 stick)
1 tbsp of coffee powder
Gold food coloring (optional)

Procedure:
Beat the egg whites until it gets foamy at the same time in a saucepan with a medium heat, place the sugar and water (SYRUP). Using a candy thermometer, Heat the syrup reach until it gets 230°F. In a slow and steady stream, Pour the sugar syrup into the egg white mixture then whip until it gets stiff and glossy peaks and also it brings back the normal temperature of the bowl (by simply holding). Add the butter a cube at a time (it will curdle but don’t worry just wait for 3~5 minutes nd the mixture will be incorporated). Add in the coffee powder and gold food coloring in the mixture, mix until combine. There you have your Coffee icing for your cake!

Leave a Reply

